Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides strategic leadership setting long-term vision and values for the organization. They direct and control the organization through careful deliberation and establishment of policies. They direct the Executive Director and Executive Leadership Team (ELT) to achieve results of inclusive seamless child and family-centered services that demonstrate a commitment to the pursuit of excellence, creativity, and innovation.

Board of Directors 2017-2018

Julie Dénommé - Chair

Kimberley Gagan - Vice Chair

Deb Sullivan - Secretary

Michael Gauthier

Ryan Minor

Christine Catt

Laura Sylvestre

Ryan Benoit

Samantha Wallenius

 Julie Dénommé - Chair

 

Julie_Denomme

 Julie Dénommé is the manager of Leadership and Learning at Health Sciences North where she is responsible to develop and implement a system approach to leadership development.  As founder of Lasting Leadership, Julie is committed to helping leaders and leadership teams develop their full potential.

Relentlessly forward-looking coach/facilitator/trainer and leader, Julie is known for inspiring those she works with to stretch beyond the known and comfortable to realize results that serve the highest needs of individuals, organizations and communities.  Julie's hands-on change leadership provides real-world appreciation for what it takes to orchestrate, manoeuver and seize significant change for both individuals and organizations.

Julie has worked in both the profit and non-profit sector which provides her an integrated view of the possibilities when it comes to creating results, influencing change and having an impact.

Julie is a bilingual professional who is currently completing her Masters in Leadership.  She is a graduate of Royal Road University Certified in Executive Coaching. Julie also holds a B.S.W from Laurentian University.

  


Kimberley Gagan - Vice Chair

Kimberley_Gagan

Kimberley Gagan is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario and received her Bachelor of Laws degree in 1995 from Queen's University. She was an Assistant Crown Attorney in Thunder Bay Ontario, from 2000 to 2014.  In October of 2014, she accepted the position of Founding Director of Lakehead University Community Legal Services where she created and implemented a student legal aid clinic at the Faculty of Law.  As a parent of three children on the Autism Spectrum, she has developed a keen interest in supporting others with similar disabilities.

 





 

Deb Sullivan - Secretary

 

Deb SullivanDeb has over 30 years of experience in the not for profit sector working with and advocating for children and adults with various mental health and developmental challenges. Her extensive management and labour relations experience led her to her current role as Manager with Human Resources for Laurentian University. Among other duties, she provides training, employee relations and coaching support. Her dedication to service, compassion and desire to see others achieve success, are key drivers to her focus and approach.

Deb is a bilingual professional who graduated from the 'Enfance exceptionnelle' program at Cambrian College and the Bachelors of Arts degree with a double major in Psychology and Sociology from Laurentian University. She is also a certified Life and Executive Coach.

 

Michael Gauthier

Michael_Gauthier

Michael is a lawyer in practice in Sudbury, practicing in the areas of personal injury law, representing clients and their families, many of which have sustained life-altering injuries. He also practices corporate law, representing large to small businesses on matters such as the purchase and sale of companies, corporate re-organizations, employment matters and various other aspects of business law.

Michael is the proud father of a child with autism, now enrolled in the school-system. He has been actively engaged in continued education regarding autism, and is currently also involved with Autism Ontario.

 

 

 Ryan Minor

 

Ryan MinorRyan Minor is a self-employed Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA).

Ryan has taught corporate tax at Laurentian University and is presently completing an LLM in Tax Law through Osgoode Hall Law School. Prior to joining CCR, Ryan was on the board of the Learning Disabilities Association of Sudbury (LDAS) as well as the Canadian Mental Health Association. Ryan is married with two children : ages 3 and 6.

 

 

 

Christine Catt

 

Christine CattChristine Catt is a communications professional, born and raised in Greater Sudbury, with a background in broadcast journalism, public relations, and marketing. She has worked at Persona 10 News and Science North, and is currently the Director of University Advancement for Huntington University where she leads marketing/advertising initiatives, event planning and the development of effective communication strategies to advance the university.

 

On a personal level it was her family's autism journey which inspired Christine to volunteer her time in order to improve services for children and families in Greater Sudbury and Northern Ontario. She is proud to join the CCR Board of Directors, and also serves as a member of the NEO Kids Foundation fundraising committee.  

 

Laura Sylvestre

 

Laura Sylvestre

Laura is a passionate advocate who has worked alongside parents and educators to benefit students in the Lakehead Public School Board for several years. In this capacity she has promoted evidence-based policies to help develop individual strategies with students' successes--in all areas--as the primary objective. She also serves on the Success Advisory Committee for the Lakehead Public School Board, and is the chair of their Special Education Advisory Committee and Parental Involvement Committee.

 

In the past, Laura has been active with the Thunder Bay and District chapter of Autism Ontario. There she served as chapter vice-president and later chapter president, leading the organization and working to promote awareness in the community. Being the mother of three children with autism spectrum disorder has served as the catalyst to help children of all different abilities.

 

Ryan Benoit

 

RRyan Benoityan Benoit, 24 years old, is the Owner of The Positive Inception, a local clothing brand. Ryan was born with Cerebral Palsy, however, this hasn't stopped him from achieving what he wants in life. Ryan considers himself to be very fortunate to have had the opportunity to study at Laurentian University and graduate from the Sport Administration program in 2015. After graduating from Laurentian, he chose to further his education and enrolled himself in the Human Resources Post Diploma Program at Cambrian College.

Ryan began the Positive Inception in 2013 with the idea to inspire people and help them gain positive perceptions. Since then, the brand has grown significantly and he has expanded to a retail location on LaSalle Blvd. in late August  He was also a recipient for this year's 40 under 40 Awards.

 

 

Samantha Wallenius

 

Dr. Samantha Wallenius is a Psychiatrist who operates an inpatient and outpatient practice at the Sault Area Hospital.  She obtained her Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree from the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine and subsequently completed a 5-year residency program in Psychiatry from the University of Toronto, as well.  Dr. Wallenius has an interest in developmental and Autism Spectrum disorders, and has also established a Dual Diagnosis clinic in Sault Ste. Marie.  This program facilitates the diagnosis and treatment of individuals who may have both developmental and mental health concerns.  She regularly provides consultative and collaborative educational sessions for staff members at the Canadian Mental Health Association and Algoma Public Health.

Outside of her professional responsibilities, Dr. Wallenius and her husband are kept busy with their two young sons.

Conseil d'administration

Le Conseil d'administration assure une direction stratégique et établit une vision et des valeurs à long terme. Il dirige et contrôle l'organisme en délibérant de façon approfondie et en établissant diverses politiques. Il appuie la directrice exécutive et l'équipe de haute direction pour qu'ils atteignent les résultats visés, c'est-à-dire des services inclusifs et transparents axés sur l'enfant et la famille qui démontrent un engagement à la poursuite de l'excellence, de la créativité et de l'innovation.

Conseil d'administration 2017-2018

Julie Dénommé - Présidente

Kimberley Gagan - Vice-présidente

Deb Sullivan - Secrétaire

Michael Gauthier

Ryan Minor

Christine Catt

Laura Sylvestre

Ryan Benoit

Samantha Wallenius

  

Julie Dénommé - Présidente

 

Julie_Dénommé

Julie Dénommé est gestionnaire, apprentissage et leadership, à Horizon Santé-Nord.  Elle est responsable de développer et mettre en œuvre un système de perfectionnement en leadership. À titre de fondatrice de Lasting Leadership, Julie est engagée à aider les leaders et les équipes de leadership à réaliser leur plein potentiel.

 À la fois accompagnatrice, animatrice, formatrice et leader toujours à l'avant-garde, Julie est reconnue pour inspirer toutes les personnes avec lesquelles elle travaille à se surpasser, tant dans l'inconnu qu'au-delà de leur zone de confort, pour obtenir des résultats qui répondent aux plus grands besoins d'individus, d'organismes et de la collectivité en général. Julie, grâce à son leadership pratique axé sur le changement, offre une véritable appréciation de ce qu'il faut faire pour organiser, manœuvrer et favoriser le changement, à la fois chez l'individu et les organismes.

 Julie a travaillé à la fois dans les secteurs à but lucratif et sans but lucratif ce qui lui confère une perspective intégrée des possibilités qui s'offrent pour obtenir des résultats concrets, tout en ayant un véritable impact.

 Julie est une professionnelle bilingue qui complète présentement sa maîtrise en leadership. Elle est aussi diplômée de la Royal Road University en coaching pour les cadres. Julie détient aussi un Baccalauréat en sciences sociales de l'Université Laurentienne. 


Kimberley Gagan - Vice-présidente

Kimberley_Gagan

Kimberly Gagan est diplômée de l'Université Western Ontario et a obtenu son baccalauréat en droit de l'Université Queen's en 1995. Elle a été procureure adjointe de la Couronne à Thunder Bay Ontario, de 2000 à 2014. En octobre 2014, elle a accepté le poste de directrice fondatrice de Lakehead University Community Legal Services où elle a créé et mis en œuvre un service d'aide juridique étudiant à la faculté de droit. En tant que parent de trois enfants autistiques, elle souhaite aider d'autres personnes atteintes de handicaps semblables.

 

 

  

Deb Sullivan - Secrétaire

 

Deb SullivanDeb a plus de trente ans d'expérience dans le secteur à but non lucratif comme travailleuse et alliée pour les enfants et les adultes atteints de divers problèmes de santé mentale et de difficultés de développement. Elle possède une vaste expérience dans les relations de gestion et de travail, ceux-ci l'ont amenée à son rôle actuel en tant que Directrice des Ressources humaines à l'Université laurentienne. Entre autres fonctions, elle offre la formation, le soutien de relations de travail et de coaching. Son dévouement au service, sa compassion et son désir de voir les autres réussir, sont des facteurs clés de son attention et de son approche.

Deb est une professionnelle bilingue qui est diplômée du programme « Enfance exceptionnelle » au Cambrian College et possède un baccalauréat des arts avec double majeure en psychologie et en sociologie de l'Université laurentienne. Elle est aussi une Mentor spécialisé pour cadres certifiée.

 

 Michael Gauthier

Michael_Gauthier

Monsieur Gauthier, avocat, pratique à Sudbury dans les domaines du droit des préjudices personnels, représentant des clients et leurs familles, dont plusieurs ont subi des blessures ayant des répercussions sur toute leur vie. Il pratique aussi le droit commercial, représentant de petites et grandes entreprises dans des domaines comme l'achat et la vente de commerces, la restructuration d'entreprises, l'emploi et d'autres aspects du droit commercial.

Monsieur Gauthier est fier d'être le père d'un enfant autistique maintenant inscrit dans le système scolaire. Il est activement engagé dans le domaine de l'éducation permanente relativement à l'autisme et aussi, présentement, dans Autisme Ontario. 

 

Ryan Minor

 

Ryan MinorMonsieur Minor est comptable professionnel agréé (CPA) indépendant. Il a enseigné l'impôt sur les sociétés à l'université Laurentienne et complète présentement un diplôme LLM en droit fiscal à l'école de droit Osgoode Hall.

Avant de joindre les REC, monsieur Minor siégeait au Conseil de la Learning Disabilities Association of Sudbury (LDAS) de même que l'Association canadienne pour la santé mentale (ACSM).  Il est marié et a deux enfants âgés de 3 et 6 ans.

 

 

 

Christine Catt

 

Christine CattChristine Catt est professionnelle en communication, née et élevée dans le Grand Sudbury. Elle a de l'expérience en radiotéléjournalisme, relations publiques, relations publiques et marketing. Elle a travaillé à Persona 10 News et Sciences Nord et elle est présentement directrice pour l'avancement universitaire à la Huntington University où elle dirige les activités de marketing et de publicité, de promotion d'événements et de développement de stratégies de communication efficaces pour l'avancement de l'université.

Sue le plan personnel, c'est l'expérience de sa famille en matière d'autisme qui a inspiré Christine à faire du bénévolat pour améliorer les services aux enfants et aux familles dans le Grand Sudbury et dans le Nord de l'Ontario. Elle est fière de se joindre au Conseil d'administration des REC et elle est aussi membre du comité de financement de la NEO Kids Foundation. 

 

Laura Sylvestre

 

Laura SylvestreLaura est une intervenante passionnée qui a travaillé auprès des parents et des éducateurs pour appuyer les élèves du Lakehead Public School Board pendant de nombreuses années. Dans ce rôle, elle a favorisé des politiques axées sur la preuve afin de pouvoir développer des stratégies individuelles dont le principal objectif était d'assurer le succès des élèves dans tous les domaines. Elle est aussi membre du comité consultatif sur le succès au Lakehead Public School Board et est Présidente de son comité consultatif pour l'enfance en difficulté et son comité pour la participation des parents.

 

Auparavant, Laura a participé activement au Thunder Bay and District Chapter d'Autisme Ontario. C'est là qu'elle a servi de vice-présidente, puis Présidente, de cet organisme en le dirigeant et tout en favorisant la sensibilisation dans la communauté. Mère de trois enfants atteints du trouble du spectre autistique, elle a agi comme catalyseur pour aider les enfants de toutes capacités.

 

Ryan Benoit

 

Ryan BenoitRyan Benoit, 24 ans, est propriétaire de la marque de vêtements locale Positive Inception. Il est né avec la paralysie cérébrale, mais cela ne l'a pas empêché d'atteindre tous ses objectifs de vie. Ryan se considère très chanceux d'avoir eu l'occasion d'étudier à l'Université Laurentienne et d'obtenir son diplôme du programme d'administration sportive en 2015. Une fois ce diplôme obtenu, il a choisi de poursuivre ses études et de s'inscrire au programme d'études supérieures en ressources humaines au Cambrian College.

Ryan a fondé Positive Inception en 2013 avec l'idée d'inspirer les gens, tout en les aidant à avoir des perceptions positives. Depuis, la marque s'est considérablement développée, tout en s'établissant dans un point de vente au détail sur boulevard LaSalle. Vers la fin du mois d'août dernier, il a obtenu le prix des 40 Canadiens performants de moins de 40 ans.

 

 

Samantha Wallenius

 

La Dre Samantha Wallenius est une psychiatre qui gère une pratique de consultation interne et externe à l'Hôpital de Sault-Ste-Marie. Elle a obtenu son doctorat en médecine de la faculté de médecine de l'Université de Toronto où elle a ensuite complété un programme de résidence de 5 ans en psychiatrie. Madame Wallenius s'intéresse aux troubles du spectre autistique et au développement en général. Elle a aussi établi une clinique de diagnostic mixte à Sault-Ste-Marie. Ce programme favorise le diagnostic et le traitement d'individus qui peuvent avoir des problèmes de développement et de santé mentale. Elle offre régulièrement des séances éducatives, consultatives et collaboratives pour tout le personnel de l'Association canadienne pour la santé mentale et Santé publique Algoma. 

En plus de leurs responsabilités professionnelles, madame Wallenius et son conjoint se dévouent à leurs deux jeunes fils.