Applied Behavioural Analysis (ABA) Workshops for Professionals

ABA workshops for Professionals address the four areas of focus for ABA-based services and support, and builds the ABA capacity of professional and parent participants.

ABA Workshops for Professionals to both beginner and advanced levels, on specific topics including:

 

Workshop activities include:

  • Oral and visual presentations (e.g. power point, demonstration videos)
  • Group exercises
  • Hands-on practice in the application of concepts and methods
  • Homework and review
  • Troubleshooting


Applied Behavioural Analysis (ABA): What, When, and Why?

Applied Behavioural Analysis (ABA) is an effective aproach to understanding and changing Behaviour, as well as teaching new skills.  Participants will gain an understanding of ABA, when and why ABA should be utilized, and an introduction to ABA teaching strategies that can support skill building.


ASD: What You Need to Know

Through hands on activities, video clips, and practical examples, this presentation is designed to provide participants with a general knowledge of the neurodevelopment disorders within the Autism Spectrum. Participants will take away an understanding of the common strengths and challenges for individuals with an Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), as well as evidence based strategies that may be used to support their unique needs.


Integrating Visual Supports into the Child/Youth’s Environment

This workshop takes participants through an exploration of visuals that serve a number of functions, such as supporting the organization of the environment, giving information, reducing problem behaviour, promoting independence, promoting social skills in the school setting, motivating learning and improving transitions between environments.


Functional Behaviour Assessment (FBA)

This workshop examines the relationship between the environment and behaviour. It involves a dynamic full day presentation that takes the participants through the theory behind behaviour, the functions of behaviour, and a demonstration of the FBA process.


Transitions

Participants will learn strategies to support a child/youth’s transition in the following areas: entry into school, transitions between activities, between settings, between grade levels and into secondary school and adulthood.


Social Skills

Participants are taken through the research, theory and tools needed to incorporate social skills in to the classroom and lives of children/youth with an Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). Focused social skills interventions are explained, including social narratives, video modeling, role playing, social scripts and peer mediated interventions.


Data Collection and Summary

In this workshop, through examples and hands-on activities, participants will be taken through the steps of the data collection process. Participants will gain an understanding of what the numbers mean, how to make sense of the data that is collected, and ultimately the importance of data collection with regards to changing behaviour and selecting interventions.


Availability


ABA workshops are available to professionals working with children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (e.g. teachers, daycare providers, bus drivers etc.) in the Sudbury, Manitoulin, Algoma, Thunder Bay and Kenora/Rainy River Districts.

How to Get Started


To request an ABA workshop, please contact CCR in your district.

Ateliers d'analyse comportementale appliquée (ACA) à l'intention des professionnels


Les ateliers en ACA destinés aux professionnels abordent les quatre domaines clés des services et programmes fondés sur l'ACA, tout en augmentant la compétence en ACA des parents et des professionnels qui y participent.

Les ateliers en ACA pour professionnels comportent six ateliers de base visant les débutants et les plus chevronnés sur des sujets spécifiques comme :

 

Parmi les activités de ces ateliers, notons :

  • présentations orales et visuelles (par ex., PowerPoint, vidéos, etc.);
  • exercices en groupe
  • applications pratiques des concepts et méthodes;
  • devoirs etrévisions;
  • dépannage.


Analyse comportementale appliquée (ACA) Quoi?, Quand? et Pourquoi?

L'analyse comportementale appliquée (ACA) est une démarche efficace pour comprendre et modifier le comportement, et enseigner de nouvelles compétences.  Les participants comprendront mieux l'ACA, quand et pourquoi cette démarche est utilisée.  Il y aura aussi une introduction aux stratégies d`enseignement de l`ACA qui peuvent appuyer l`acquisition de compétences.


TSA : ce qu'il faut savoir

Grâce à des activités pratiques, des vidéoclips et des exemples concrets, cette présentation est conçue pour donner aux participants des connaissances générales sur divers troubles neurologiques du développement relativement au spectre autistique. Les participants retiendront une meilleure compréhension des forces et des faiblesses communes des individus atteints du trouble du spectre autistique (TSA), ainsi que des stratégies axées sur la preuve qui peuvent appuyer leurs besoins particuliers.


Intégrer les outils visuels dans le milieu de l'enfant/l'adolescent

Cet atelier permet aux participants d'explorer divers éléments visuels qui ont un certain nombre de fonctions, comme : appuyer l'organisation du milieu; donner de l'information; réduire le comportement problématique; favoriser l'autonomie; favoriser les aptitudes sociales en milieu scolaire; motiver l'apprentissage; et améliorer les transitions entre les milieux.


Évaluation comportementale fonctionnelle (ÉCF)

Cet atelier examine le rapport entre le milieu et le comportement. Il comporte une dynamique présentation d'une journée qui explique aux participants la théorie du comportement, les fonctions du comportement et une démonstration du processus ÉCF.


Transitions

Les participants apprennent des stratégies visant à appuyer l'enfant/l'adolescent dans ses diverses transitions : entrée à l'école; entre activités et contextes; entre les années scolaires, y compris le secondaire; puis la transition au monde adulte.


Aptitudes sociales

Les participants apprennent la recherche, la théorie et les outils requis pour incorporer les aptitudes sociales en salle de classe et à la vie des enfants/adolescents atteints du trouble du spectre autistique (TSA). L'atelier explique les interventions sociales ciblées, y compris les narrations sociales, le modelage vidéo, le jeu de rôle, les scénarios sociaux et les interventions médiées par les pairs.


Collecte de données et sommaire

Dans cet atelier, par des exemples et des activités pratiques, les participants apprennent les différentes étapes du processus de collecte de données. Les participants comprendront mieux les chiffres et le sens des données recueillies et, éventuellement, l'importance de la collecte de données pour changer le comportement et choisir les interventions appropriées.


Disponibilité


Les ateliers en ACA sont offerts aux professionnels qui œuvrent auprès des enfants atteints du trouble du spectre autistique (par ex., enseignants, personnel de garderies, conducteurs d'autobus, etc.) dans les districts de Sudbury/Manitoulin, Algoma, Thunder Bay et Kenora/Rainy River.

Voici comment démarrer


Pour faire une demande d'atelier en ACA, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau des REC dans votre district.