Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) Awareness Presentations

These educational and interactive presentations are designed to increase the awareness and enhance empathy of peers of students with an ASD.

Please note, parental consent is required for diagnosis specific presentations.

CCR conducts the following presentations:


Understanding Friends ©

(Adapted from Catherine Faherty Asheville TEACCH Center) This hands on presentation will allow students to “walk in someone else’s shoes”, by experiencing what it may be like to have visual, hearing, fine motor, gross motor, neurological and/or speech impairment.


Understanding Autism

This hands-on presentation uses video clips, group discussions and activities to help students understand the difficulties with language, communication, and behaviour that students diagnosed with Autism face every day. Students will also have an opportunity to discuss strengths associated with an Autism diagnosis and will increase their awareness of the disorder.


Understanding Asperger’s Syndrome

This hands-on presentation uses video clips, group discussions and activities to help students understand the strengths and challenges related to Asperger’s Syndrome. Through the presentation students will increase their awareness and understanding of Asperger’s Syndrome


Availability


Awareness Training workshops are available to children, youth, families and adults in the Sudbury, Manitoulin, Algoma, Thunder Bay and Kenora/Rainy River Districts.

How to Get Started


To request ASD training, please contact CCR in your district.

Présentations de sensibilisation au trouble du spectre autistique (TSA)

Ces présentations éducatives et interactives sont conçues pour accroître la sensibilisation et l'empathie des pairs d'élèves atteints du TSA.

Notez : Les présentations spécifiques au diagnostic exigent le consentement des parents.

Les REC donnent les présentations suivantes :

 


Comprendre les amis©

Adaptée du Catherine Faherty Asheville TEAACH Center, cette présentation interactive permet aux élèves de « vivre dans la peau d'une autre personne » qui éprouve une déficience visuelle, auditive, de motricité fine et/ou globale, neurologique ou d’allocution.


Comprendre l'autisme

Grâce à des vidéoclips, des discussions en groupes et des activités pratiques, cette présentation aide les élèves à comprendre les difficultés avec le langage, la communication et le comportement que doivent affronter quotidiennement les élèves autistiques. Les élèves auront aussi l'occasion de discuter des forces associées au diagnostic d'autisme, tout en augmentant leur sensibilisation à ce trouble.


Comprendre le syndrome d’Asperger

Grâce à des vidéoclips, des discussions en groupes et des activités pratiques, cette présentation aide les élèves à mieux comprendre les forces et les défis concernant le syndrome d'Asperger. Avec cette présentation, les élèves pourront accroître leur sensibilisation et leur compréhension du syndrome d'Asperger.


Disponibilité


Les ateliers de sensibilisation sont offerts aux enfants, adolescents, familles et adultes dans les districts de Sudbury/Manitoulin, Algoma, Thunder Bay et Kenora/Rainy River.


Voici comment démarrer


Pour faire une demande de formation en ACA, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau des REC dans votre district.